Thoughts From The Beach

What I have learned about life, living at the beach.

Lessons

Leave a comment

There are many lessons that I have learned since moving to the beach. My most recent lessons have been through watching my yard and gardens taking shape this spring. 

The last couple of years I have had miserable spring and summers as far as my gardens go. For someone who left a flourishing garden in Portland Oregon it has been disheartening. This spring as I was watching the early bulbs blooming I noticed some hyacinths blooming from under our wood pile. You may think “why did she plant bulbs under a wood pile?” The answer is, the wood pile wasn’t there when I planted them! Due to all of the work in my yard the past year or so we needed to move the pile to its current location. But back to my lessons learned…..

AsI looked at the flowers it brought two thoughts to mind, “bloom where you are planted” and that nothing ever worth having is easy. Those flowers worked their way out from a load of firewood to bloom in all their glory! This showed me that there is hope to make this house, this garden and this life of mine bloom gloriously. With a little work I can have the life I have always dreamed about. It is getting there. Closer than I have ever been and I am enjoying the journey. I think of all the “wood piles” I needed to overcome and it is amazing to me that I am at this spot at this time living a life I couldn’t even dream about!

So I want you to take some time and think about your own wood piles and then congratulate yourself in blooming even when they should have crushed you. 

Leave a Reply

