Thoughts From The Beach

What I have learned about life, living at the beach.

Randomness!

Leave a comment

I find that I am a person who likes to have more control in her life than randomness. Even when I try to impart randomness (others may call it naturalization) in my gardens. You see to obtain this randomness in my garden I do it with a certain amount of control. Take bulb planting for example….my process to obtain randomness or naturalization is to throw all those instructions related to spacing away, who reads them anyway right? When I am planting bulbs I grab a handful and toss them in the air, where they land is where they are planted. If multiple bulbs land in one place, that is where they are planted. Though this may seem like randomness it is not in all actuality. See I have control over where I throw the bulbs in the air, how many I throw at once and what kind I am throwing. See control over my randomness.

However, the other morning when looking out at my yard I saw three hyacinth flowers coming up in a location I never tossed them, or even thought about planting them. They were there randomly. How they got there? Could it have been all of the digging and moving of dirt during last summers dust bowl of 2012, did the moles who had taken up residence in my yard last year move them? Who knows. All I know is that when I looked out at this true randomness, I began to realize that maybe having a little more randomness in my life would be ok. To try and be less controlling over how things happen around me. To go with the flow just a little bit more. I think by adopting a little bit more of this attitude I will feel less stress and less of a need for perfection in myself and those around me. It is worth a try! Anyone want to join me?

Image

Leave a Reply

